https://shadowborne-games.com/ logo
Join Discord
Powered by
# rules-help
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    02/13/2023, 8:38 PM
    Updated rulebook says you can attack any die you charged through, your choice.
  • j

    JuanV

    02/13/2023, 8:44 PM
    Niiice!! Was not aware!! Really good then for large monsters to get the core location reduced before escalating!!! Thanks! 👍
  • j

    JuanV

    02/13/2023, 9:54 PM
    If a use a weapon like this -‘targets the X hexes in a straight line from your front’ - how does this work on a large enemy? Does it attack all hexes dice? Too good. Do I choose? (spoiler for ch20 unique item). And… if in the line the dice at at 1, 4, 2 hp, can I choose order? I would choose 4 at core first, obviously. But thematically attack would happen to first dice, which if broken… would it stop the rest of the attack?
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    02/14/2023, 4:04 AM
    Not gonna look at the spoiler, but, unless it says it hits all those locations simultaneously, I'd guess it only hits each target once and the closest location on the target. (Because most things do.)
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    02/14/2023, 4:04 AM
    Also, huh, that has to be an item you can only use for one chapter based on how it's designed.
  • u

    Uruwiel

    02/14/2023, 7:31 AM
    Usually when cone attacks hit multiple hit dice of a large creature, for each additional HP die hit, just add +1 damage to the final damage value.
  • j

    JuanV

    02/14/2023, 8:57 AM
    Yes I wanted be respectful with spoilers. The text is literally, ‘This attack targets the X hexes in a straight line in front of you’. X is bigger than 2. So if you are next to a large monster, you could interpret this as it hutting multiple hexes of that monster.
  • j

    JuanV

    02/14/2023, 8:58 AM
    That’s the rule for AOE, I know. In this case the card doesn’t say AOE in it, and it’s not a cone attack. The text is exactly what I transcribed above.
  • u

    Uruwiel

    02/14/2023, 8:59 AM
    Literally shows ⚔️ Area of Effect 😄
  • j

    JuanV

    02/14/2023, 8:59 AM
    X is ||4 - so it could hit 3 hexes||
  • j

    JuanV

    02/14/2023, 8:59 AM
    Oh. DUH. Ok. Hahah forget it.
  • j

    JuanV

    02/14/2023, 9:00 AM
    Darn guess I was tired given the late hour.
  • u

    Uruwiel

    02/14/2023, 9:00 AM
    You are overthinking it, I think, If it walks like a duck and talks like a duck, it is probably an AOE duck 😄
  • j

    JuanV

    02/14/2023, 9:00 AM
    Hahah ok! I played correctly then, otherwise it would have been too overpowered.
  • j

    JuanV

    02/14/2023, 9:01 AM
    I was focusing on the text and ‘every hex’ and missed the AOE text. That makes it obvious.
  • r

    Rule of Three

    02/15/2023, 3:12 AM
    I have happily backed the second edition and rules updates and all that. Do we have any sort of fleshed out FAQ for those rulings we HAVE already smoothed out so far?
  • r

    Rule of Three

    02/15/2023, 3:13 AM
    We're prepping run two.. once we WIN Thursday. 😉
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    02/15/2023, 4:18 PM
    The BGG FAQ thread is generally the best compilation of notes: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2894439/official-faq-oathswornitd/page/1
  • k

    KreenWarrior

    02/18/2023, 7:03 PM
    Grove Maiden: the Sentinels don't attack unless a card makes them, but the Ancient Guardian is a full independent ally with its own animus that can make attacks, right?
  • k

    KreenWarrior

    02/18/2023, 7:06 PM
    Also, double checking, when the story calls for a Might Check, do characters get any bonuses or is it a straight draw from the white deck? What if it happens during a combat encounter with weapons equipped (ie if someone gets Caged)?
  • s

    Sharogy

    02/18/2023, 8:03 PM
    is there an update to the witch?
  • l

    luckdragon

    02/19/2023, 2:41 AM
    hello! I have questions about lightning rod for the witch. what happens if it hits a wall? Does it bounce? Does it stop?
  • s

    Sigmar

    02/19/2023, 7:29 AM
    Best discord team, simple question tonight. How does Line of Sight work for things like 'A Friendly Character within Range 3 gets +3 Animas? Does this need LoS as if it were a Ranged Attack? Or only things that attack with the Bow Icon need LoS? Thanks if able
  • s

    skyflight

    02/19/2023, 10:48 AM
    Range and LoS are not the same. So it is only needed if it is specified.
  • m

    Manwe

    02/19/2023, 2:12 PM
    Question regarding the pla*** card: || Does the plague card count as injury? ||
  • t

    Tonzin

    02/19/2023, 3:08 PM
    Yes, it is an injury card, but you cannot get rid of it using Free Company Traits or something akin to that
  • t

    Tonzin

    02/19/2023, 3:09 PM
    Any form of attack will need LoS unless specifically stated otherwise
  • k

    KreenWarrior

    02/19/2023, 3:55 PM
    But if it's not an attack it doesn't need it unless specified?
  • l

    luckdragon

    02/20/2023, 7:50 PM
    Anyone understand how lightning rod works? What it if it hits the edge of the map before finding a target? Does it bounce back?
  • d

    Daidoji_Micah

    02/21/2023, 1:38 AM
    For Rile and Rake (and potentially similar cards) - Can you freely choose what to attack with the sword/attack icon or does it need to be the target the rest of the card is referring to? And does it work if you don't have falcons to send? Thanks!
1...163164165...174Latest