https://shadowborne-games.com/ logo
Join Discord
Powered by
# rules-help
  • m

    mkmagius01

    11/20/2022, 2:40 AM
    you can send runner all the way up until you start the encounter
  • s

    skyflight

    11/20/2022, 3:07 AM
    Question for tally, loot ... In the rule for 'gain cards' it says those cards can be equipped immediately. But under 'item cards' it is specified that exchange can't happen during encounters. Which rule takes precedence?
  • s

    skyflight

    11/20/2022, 3:10 AM
    If I can change and my backpack is full, any discard of used cards in this step does not count for the discard in the losses step?
  • g

    Gene Helix Roads🌀

    11/20/2022, 3:15 AM
    The encounter is over when you tally loot level and losses
  • s

    skyflight

    11/20/2022, 3:57 AM
    You are actually right. Got confused as it is listed in the encounter book.
  • s

    skyflight

    11/20/2022, 3:59 AM
    Then I just await clarification on my second question.
  • d

    Draznar

    11/20/2022, 4:02 AM
    Silly Q on breaking locations and reaction targeting. I know the general rule is that it overrides typical targeting for whoever broke the location, but if you draw a reaction stage card that doesn't say the generic 'Attack Target', but instead says explicitly ' target the oathsworn furthest from the boss' or like 'target the the oathsworn holding most combat tokens" etc..... what is the correct intent?
  • d

    Draznar

    11/20/2022, 4:03 AM
    Assuming the person who broke the location and caused the reaction, is not that one described explicitly on the stage card
  • s

    skyflight

    11/20/2022, 4:17 AM
    The enemy who got the die broken will target the one who broke it. All other enemies (if any) will pick target as the card says.
  • d

    Draznar

    11/20/2022, 4:22 AM
    We interpreted it the other way as it seemed correct/ more intuitive. Do you know if they've put that in an FAQ somewhere? Or have I overlooked the page in the rulebook you can point me to?
  • b

    bigonion

    11/20/2022, 4:57 AM
    I'm 90% sure you take notice of the keyword target. If it says "target", then the dice breaker overrules the other criteria. If it said "attack the furthest oathsworn", then it wouldn't preference the reaction target because it didn't have the target keyword
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/20/2022, 5:09 AM
    No, the Warden would still take a damage
  • m

    mkmagius01

    11/20/2022, 5:11 AM
    that’s what i figured
  • d

    Draznar

    11/20/2022, 5:13 AM
    That would make sense, I'll have to check back on one of the stage cards in particular to double check the wording.
  • d

    Draznar

    11/20/2022, 5:27 AM
    There we go, example cards from stage 9
  • d

    Draznar

    11/20/2022, 5:28 AM
    Cards like these as reactions to broken locations.
  • d

    Draznar

    11/20/2022, 5:31 AM
    Perhaps if word 'target' is bolded or not that plays a factor? Unsure if that's intentional.
  • k

    Kuraudio

    11/20/2022, 8:11 AM
    When you are playing a chapter with a City/ Town/Village Map, you may ‘START A TRADE’ with a Banksmith or Apothecary at any point during the Story.
  • v

    V-Rex

    11/20/2022, 8:37 AM
    Is this official ruling from somewhere? I felt this was just easier wording than just saying range 1, but perhaps I am wrong.
  • g

    GhostMercenary

    11/20/2022, 10:43 AM
    When an oatsworn is ko'd, it says to bring an ally from any edge of the board. This doesn't not mean exclusively the corners right? So can bring in from to middle etc?
  • v

    V-Rex

    11/20/2022, 10:59 AM
    I always understood it anywhere, middle is an edge of the board too. It does not say corner.
  • d

    Draznar

    11/20/2022, 1:22 PM
    Same
  • s

    socraticmethod

    11/20/2022, 2:03 PM
    According to the targeting rules on E19, the first step is to target the character that broke the location if in range and in LOS. The second step is to use the specific target on the Stage Card or Special Rules Board. So the enemy would favor targeting the character that broke the location even if there is a specific target (furthest, etc.) listed on the Stage Card.
  • s

    socraticmethod

    11/20/2022, 2:04 PM
    Also the FAQ on BGG has: Q. Does the Stage Care or Special Rules board supercede the Reaction Rules? A. No, unless it states specifically otherwise. Note when fighting a group of bosses, not all bosses will focus the damage dealer. Only the damaged boss will do that.
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/20/2022, 2:10 PM
    These cards will all target the person who triggered the reaction
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/20/2022, 2:12 PM
    As long as you're touching the board edge, you're good to go
  • g

    GhostMercenary

    11/20/2022, 2:13 PM
    Thanks everyone!
  • d

    Draznar

    11/20/2022, 2:14 PM
    Right.... I thought cases like this where it calls out "target the furthest oathsworn" or whatever, were those exception cases of specifically being called out
  • s

    socraticmethod

    11/20/2022, 2:18 PM
    I think in the exception cases the Stage Card will explicitly say that it overrules the Reaction Rules or at least the normal targeting rules
  • d

    Draznar

    11/20/2022, 2:22 PM
    That seems really odd. Also since often those types of card targeting have effects based on the target. Like the middle stage card targets the furthest Oathsworn, and drags them towards the boss, hoping to hit parts of the board along the way......... Dragging someone far away makes sense from the intended design. If an adjacent Oathsworn becomes the target for that kind of card, the rest of the cards design kind of flops .
1...134135136...174Latest