https://shadowborne-games.com/ logo
Join Discord
Powered by
# rules-help
  • j

    JuanV

    11/20/2022, 2:29 PM
    Quick question, for multi-hex monsters, range is counted from each of their hexes? Or from their front hex? Assuming from all their hexes.
  • k

    Kaaihn

    11/20/2022, 2:34 PM
    Gaining an item card supercedes the normal timing for exchanging items. When you gain an item card, you may equip it immediately. Regardless of when, any items now not equipped (because a new one of that type replaced it) are placed in the backpack. So you can equip items gained during the loot phase, which can cause items they are replacing to go in the backpack. During the loot phase you cannot trade an item from one character to another, or put in or take out any gear to the backpack other than items displaced by equipping loot. Technically you have to wait until you actually start the next story to trade items between characters, or swap freely with the backpack. This nuance of timing only matters if you are going to swap a character out of the game for another; if you are going to start the next story with the same characters, freely trading during the loot phase is functionally identical to waiting to do it during the next story.
  • s

    socraticmethod

    11/20/2022, 2:39 PM
    That is my assumption as well, I couldn't find a clear statement of this in the rulebook. LOS is determined from the front hex though.
  • j

    JuanV

    11/20/2022, 2:41 PM
    Thanks!
  • j

    JuanV

    11/20/2022, 2:42 PM
    Additional question - how would Ranger’s Ricochet ‘may target an additional enemy’ interact with enemies with multiple parts? (such as the one found in chapter ||3||) I am assuming his multiple parts are 1 enemy, so I would NOT receive Ricochet’s benefit.
  • s

    socraticmethod

    11/20/2022, 2:48 PM
    The Special Rules Board has the answer ||(in chapter 3, under Huge, it says that each body part counts as a separate enemy so Ricochet can target multiple parts)||
  • j

    JuanV

    11/20/2022, 2:50 PM
    Oh - absolutely it does. Should have read it more carefully! Thanks!! 🤗
  • s

    socraticmethod

    11/20/2022, 3:04 PM
    I've been playing that I don't have to fit under the Backpack item limit until after determining which items are lost during tally level, loot and losses, as if the normal Backpack rules are suspended. That makes thematic sense but doesn't seem to be supported by the rules. So you Gain common items and can equip them but must fit under the Backpack limit, then you Gain unique items and can equip them but must fit under the Backpack limit, then finally each Oathsworn chooses 1 (or 2 if KO'd) items to lose but they must have been used in the encounter and not already discarded due to being over the Backpack limit.
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/20/2022, 3:07 PM
    That's what the creature intended to do and the reaction steals their focus. Use this to your advantage.
  • d

    Draznar

    11/20/2022, 3:10 PM
    Interesting, The way we thought of it the reactions were like the creature getting extra actions in a round so it always felt like them powering up and being extra awesome, not us taking advantage of something 🙂
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/20/2022, 3:13 PM
    You can still view it that way. I mean use the reaction targeting to your advantage. You know what's coming, so you can guide where some really unpleasant attacks will go
  • j

    JuanV

    11/20/2022, 3:16 PM
    Quick q, on breaking a location, I do not take the visible stage card. Instead, I draw a (face down) one from the deck, right?
  • c

    Colt

    11/20/2022, 3:21 PM
    Yes, you do take the visible stage card for the reaction. Only exception is escalating to another stage, when you break a number of locations described on the Special Rules card.
  • j

    JuanV

    11/20/2022, 3:22 PM
    Ah! Just played it wrong. Thanks!! So my priest is NOT ||consumed!!||, hahah, good!! (ch3 spoiler)
  • s

    skyflight

    11/20/2022, 4:35 PM
    That makes sense. The timing issue is more about this: Loot: Gain item -> equip item -> place replacing item to backpack -> discard said card due to overloading max capacity Losses: discard equip item * do i need to pick another equipped card to discard? * What if all equipped card was replaced with the newly gain items?
  • j

    JuanV

    11/20/2022, 4:37 PM
    If after a move the monster is not next to target, and the attack is not ranged, attack will not trigger, right? That’s how I’ve been playing so far….
  • s

    skyflight

    11/20/2022, 4:48 PM
    If you can't move a monster to get into range of any target, then it is correct
  • c

    Colt

    11/20/2022, 4:48 PM
    And the monster couldn‘t attack anyone?
  • j

    JuanV

    11/20/2022, 4:59 PM
    Nope
  • j

    JuanV

    11/20/2022, 4:59 PM
    Thanks!
  • c

    Colt

    11/20/2022, 5:00 PM
    Everything should be good then.😕
  • k

    Kaaihn

    11/20/2022, 5:00 PM
    You have to discard an item that was used in the encounter. It has to be implied since they didn’t write it out explicitly, but I think you would archive it from the backpack if you replaced the used item you want to destroy with a new one you got as an encounter reward.
  • s

    skyflight

    11/20/2022, 7:44 PM
    That makes sense. But that card had already been discarded as the backpack got over its capacity.
  • k

    Kaaihn

    11/20/2022, 7:53 PM
    That’s ok I think. As long as the right number of cards per character (that were used in the encounter) end up archived at the end of loot phase then it’s fine. I wish they had worded some timings in this more explicitly.
  • j

    JuanV

    11/20/2022, 8:02 PM
    Ricochet on two targets - I drew one damage. Total damage is 5 - how do I distribute evenly between targets? Doing 2 and 3 for now.
  • k

    KarpetRydOFunk

    11/20/2022, 9:00 PM
    I would round up, because this game is already hard enough. ;}
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/20/2022, 9:07 PM
    Yeah, with 5 damage you essentially aren't going to kill or hurt 2 targets, so just do a damage to one of them.
  • k

    Kaaihn

    11/20/2022, 9:35 PM
    Fractional damage usually rounds down, doesn’t? If you don’t want to round down I would apply the extra point using north then west rule
  • j

    JuanV

    11/20/2022, 9:56 PM
    That’s a good way to solve it! Thanks
  • b

    bigonion

    11/20/2022, 10:28 PM
    I just reread the rule books and this is not technically RAW: but I've just been playing as if we gain a pool of items on the ground in front of us at the end of the encounter. We throw away our broken items (conveniently the one/two we least want), then pick up the items and equip/add to backpack as wanted.
1...135136137...174Latest