https://shadowborne-games.com/ logo
Join Discord
Powered by
# rules-help
  • w

    Wennington

    01/09/2023, 5:10 PM
    Thanks, that's how I ended up playing it!
  • w

    Wennington

    01/09/2023, 5:10 PM
    I think you're right, thanks for your input
  • w

    Wennington

    01/09/2023, 5:12 PM
    I'm pretty sure I'll like both but just reading posts and watching streams on ATO and not having the faintest clue what people are talking about intimidates me!
  • f

    FeralChicken

    01/11/2023, 12:57 AM
    Does a survival check taken during the encounter allow fir the reroll on the free company sheet?
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    01/11/2023, 1:13 AM
    I think so?
  • d

    Draznar

    01/11/2023, 5:19 AM
    My group has allowed those re rolls, a survival check is a survival check.
  • r

    running_bear

    01/12/2023, 3:18 AM
    The Ranger Companion's level 5 card has a reaction ability, "Disarming Shot", with an Amber crossed out next to it. Does that mean using that reaction does not cost Amber?
  • t

    TheSecondFlock

    01/12/2023, 4:01 AM
    Will a card like the Ursus Warbear's "Challenge" force the enemy to act with the Warbear as their Target even if the Warbear will be out of sight/range of the action(s)?
  • t

    TheSecondFlock

    01/12/2023, 4:06 AM
    Are ||Villagers|| (Chp 5) friendly to the players/Oathsworn?
  • t

    TheSecondFlock

    01/12/2023, 4:11 AM
    Following from that for Chp. 5, if ||Villagers|| are friendly, Will the ||Flying Maggots|| target ||Villagers|| instead of ||Oathsworn||, even if they are ||Infested Villagers||?
  • t

    Tyreal

    01/13/2023, 2:17 AM
    I think I remember reading that to be targeted or target, you need to be in range/sight. as for your other questions I believe they are friendly and they will target as long as they havent changed. But that would only happen in a breaking of a location situation right? This can be brought to #997540297015832707 if you #984613873430708234
  • c

    Cyberdwarf

    01/13/2023, 4:58 AM
    What happens when a character goes to zero hit points (not sacrificed) during a non-hardcore story mode? One of our players has had really cold dice and he's now at zero.
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    01/13/2023, 6:19 AM
    Start the encounter with an ally I guess??
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    01/13/2023, 6:20 AM
    They are friendly to the Oathsworn, so yes the ||minions|| will attack them. Even if it seems like it's bad for them, oddly enough. Got that clarified recently.
  • t

    TheSecondFlock

    01/13/2023, 7:29 AM
    I'll take it over to that spoiler channel to continue discussing.
  • t

    TheSecondFlock

    01/13/2023, 7:29 AM
    But thank you!
  • d

    Draznar

    01/14/2023, 1:42 AM
    Just starts encounter as an ally and counts as going to zero during encounter in Tally Level Loot and Losses step would be my guess?
  • d

    Draznar

    01/14/2023, 1:44 AM
    I didn't know it was possible in the story to lose 6 HP.......What chapter was this? I think my record is starting an encounter at 3 HP.
  • c

    Cyberdwarf

    01/14/2023, 1:45 AM
    Chapter 12. We're also playing on Dread Company, so everyone only starts with 4 HP.
  • d

    Draznar

    01/14/2023, 1:46 AM
    Ah, that makes more sense.
  • t

    Tonzin

    01/14/2023, 3:45 AM
    Dread Company is the best company. Kick all the butts, take all the names! I'm rootin' for you. Are you playing Hardcore as well?
  • c

    Cyberdwarf

    01/14/2023, 6:41 PM
    No, one of our players is pretty casual and wouldn't like to risk losing her character. Doing fine in the combats though!
  • c

    Chrowl

    01/18/2023, 12:03 AM
    On a trigger, ranged chain attack. If the boss is facing away from targets, are they not in line of sight and it has no effect ?
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    01/18/2023, 12:39 AM
    I’m fairly sure the boss can see through itself, just not obstacles.
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    01/18/2023, 12:42 AM
    Note that, in general, the targeting rules are written so it’s very difficult to completely negate a stage card. If you trigger a reaction, the boss targets in the following order: 1. Targets the attacker if they are in range and line of sight. 2. Targets according to the stage card, if specified, and in range and line of sight. 3. Targets closest Oathsworn in range and line of sight. 4. Targets closest Oathsworn. If it moves into range, attack them anyway.
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    01/18/2023, 12:43 AM
    (I am writing it from memory, so that could be a bit wrong, but that’s about the gist of it.)
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    01/18/2023, 12:46 AM
    (Taunt takes precedence as a step 0 on the list, and ignores range and line of sight, oddly enough.)
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    01/18/2023, 12:46 AM
    This, and the rules for breaking all of the monster’s remaining locations simultaneously, suggest the principle that the monster always resolves all of its cards to their fullest extent. The players primarily influence who gets hit and how many, but the minimum is generally 1 player getting hit.
  • c

    Chrowl

    01/18/2023, 12:48 AM
    "and in line of sight" he's facing away from targets
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    01/18/2023, 12:48 AM
    Right, but bosses can trace line of sight through themselves.
1...158159160...174Latest