https://shadowborne-games.com/ logo
Join Discord
Powered by
# rules-help
  • s

    socraticmethod

    12/02/2022, 8:18 PM
    for example|| I believe chapter 7's Special Rules Board says you can target any die regardless of arc.||
  • s

    socraticmethod

    12/02/2022, 8:19 PM
    So if I had two Oathsworn knocked back into the same hex of an enemy, how would that be resolved? everybody takes 1 damage or everybody takes two damage? or something else?
  • s

    socraticmethod

    12/02/2022, 8:20 PM
    I was fearing it would be 2 damage, which would be disastrous for me, but typing it out I am now guessing it would be just one damage to all three characters
  • t

    Tonzin

    12/02/2022, 8:48 PM
    What's the scenario where this happens? Knockback happens simultaneously but it isn't too common to have multiple characters both knocked back into the same space on a single enemy attack
  • s

    socraticmethod

    12/02/2022, 9:21 PM
    ||it was scenario 8, Satyr rematch. There is a hallucination (Shared Hallucination) that causes all Oathsworn to suffer Knockback 2 in a random direction. I had two Oathsworn in a line radiating NW from one hex of the Satyr, and they both rolled SE for their random direction.||
  • t

    Tonzin

    12/02/2022, 10:09 PM
    If they are in a line and both suffer Knockback 2 they shouldn't collide with each other since they are going in the same direction...unless I'm misunderstanding the setup
  • s

    socraticmethod

    12/02/2022, 10:33 PM
    wouldn't they both collide with the enemy?
  • t

    Tonzin

    12/02/2022, 10:37 PM
    I misread your previous statement, thought I saw them in a line radiating SW from the boss. In that case, the Oathsworn A would collide with the boss, unless it specifically says they don't, causing both to take a damage. And then the Oathsworn B would collide with the Oathsworn A. So Oathsworn A would take 2 damage and Oathsworn B should take 1.
  • s

    socraticmethod

    12/02/2022, 10:40 PM
    hmm got it that makes sense I think. Thanks a lot!
  • r

    Razuhl

    12/02/2022, 11:09 PM
    Yours is the exception, not the rule.
  • t

    Tonzin

    12/02/2022, 11:14 PM
    Unfortunately, that's a pretty rough bit of random chance you rolled there based on your positioning.
  • b

    bigonion

    12/02/2022, 11:32 PM
    From the encounter rule book: "When attacking a single hex character with multiple HP dice, you may choose which HP die to attack. This decision is made after the damage is drawn." So, you could have damaged the front dice even with your first attack if you wanted to. Note that Shadowbourne clarified that references to rear/flank/front are supposed to refer to the corresponding arc, not the dice itself in this thread:
  • b

    bigonion

    12/02/2022, 11:32 PM
    https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2887611/article/40795766#40795766
  • s

    socraticmethod

    12/03/2022, 3:17 AM
    Nice, thanks for showing this
  • s

    socraticmethod

    12/03/2022, 3:17 AM
    although I still don't know how I feel about backstabbing people in the face
  • t

    Tonzin

    12/03/2022, 4:20 AM
    Referring to the Avi?
  • s

    socraticmethod

    12/03/2022, 4:48 AM
    and the Cur.
  • t

    Tonzin

    12/03/2022, 4:49 AM
    At least with the Cur you need to be in the rear. The Avi just gets extra bonuses if they are in the rear when doing theirs.
  • s

    socraticmethod

    12/03/2022, 4:52 AM
    true. I just need to realign my thematic understanding...front maybe isn't face so much as head, so maybe just backstab them in the back of the head...OK I can get behind this.
  • r

    Razuhl

    12/03/2022, 5:58 AM
    For single Hex bosses, the dice have no arc positions.
  • t

    Tonzin

    12/03/2022, 6:45 AM
    They do have arcs. Page 14 has a quick reference to how the arcs change between large bosses and single hex bosses.
  • j

    JuanV

    12/03/2022, 9:09 AM
    Thanks!! I was sure of the arcs/positioning rules, but unclear I could target any die for a single hex enemy - I was damaging the one closest to attacker. Interesting and will keep this in mind for next Encounters.
  • j

    JuanV

    12/03/2022, 9:11 AM
    I think his statement is correct. The dice have no arc. The enemy does - so the arc oathsworn is in affect your abilities, but you can target any dice.
  • r

    Razuhl

    12/03/2022, 10:16 AM
    I'm talking about the single hex bosses with multiple dice, there are no flank, front or rear dice for their respective arcs
  • s

    Sharogy

    12/03/2022, 10:24 AM
    when a large creatuer lands on you, u get "pushed back" not "knocked back" right
  • r

    Razuhl

    12/03/2022, 10:26 AM
    yes, pushed back
  • j

    JuanV

    12/03/2022, 3:13 PM
    I have a ‘perform a round of combat’ against defense X’ in story book. 2 oathsworn succeed, 2 fail. Option are ‘if you succeed’ or ‘if you fail’. Which should I take?
  • j

    JuanV

    12/03/2022, 3:19 PM
    I have a ‘perform a round of combat’ against defense X’ in story book. 2 oathsworn succeed, 2 fail. Option are ‘if you succeed’ or ‘if you fail’. Which should I take?
  • s

    skyflight

    12/03/2022, 3:22 PM
    Strange, it usually specify between "if any" or "if all".
  • j

    JuanV

    12/03/2022, 3:29 PM
    No it doesn’t
1...148149150...174Latest