https://shadowborne-games.com/ logo
Join Discord
Powered by
# rules-help
  • d

    Draznar

    11/17/2022, 5:15 AM
    Without going to specifics, this came up a lot in chapter 7 if memory serves
  • d

    Draznar

    11/17/2022, 5:16 AM
    Or a similar item being if we see boss has like a chain attack 2, we'd try to stay spread out to try and nullify the combo
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/17/2022, 5:25 AM
    This is wise to do 😁
  • s

    socraticmethod

    11/17/2022, 6:19 AM
    Thanks for this clarification, this was confusing me...I was thinking that because of the wording in step 6 in the targeting rules bosses would always get to attack since it says they get to "perform as many of the other effects on the Stage card as it can"...but that must mean effects other than the move & attack rather than just the move, even if the move and attack are separately numbered steps on the Stage card.
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/17/2022, 6:21 AM
    It will execute as much of the stage card as it possibly can. If there isn't a valid target for attacking it'll still do the other parts of the card, which is sometimes just moving away and other times something more nefarious
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/17/2022, 6:23 AM
    Unless it's a ranged attack the boss will move towards the target even if it cannot get into adjacency. This could happen if there isn't a target in LoS or if terrain is blocking the boss pathing
  • s

    socraticmethod

    11/17/2022, 6:36 AM
    when I read step 3 of the targeting rules ("the closest Oathsworn in LoS that the enemy can reach is the target") it made me think that if the enemy can't reach any Oathsworn it would have no target so it would skip to step 6, but it sounds like actually if there are no Oathsworn in LoS in range but there are Oathsworn in LoS but out of range, the enemy will just move as close as possible to the closest Oathsworn in LoS and then not get to attack, rather than yeeting right to its step 6 target. And the idea of targeting includes both moving and attacking rather than resolving them separately on a step-by-step basis. That all makes more rational sense than the way I was reading the rules.
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/17/2022, 6:38 AM
    As usual, chapter specific rules will trump this stuff from time to time
  • s

    socraticmethod

    11/17/2022, 6:40 AM
    right. Thanks this was very helpful!
  • r

    running_bear

    11/17/2022, 6:43 AM
    How many permanent tokens should a level 2 character have, including the one you get at the start?
  • r

    running_bear

    11/17/2022, 6:43 AM
    is just the one or do you get another one when you hit level 2?
  • c

    ChaosFarseer

    11/17/2022, 7:02 AM
    Just one, total. The level 2 summary includes the guaranteed chapter 1 token.
  • r

    Razuhl

    11/17/2022, 8:04 AM
    Yes. One in total. The left colum is what u gain at this level, the other 3 are the summary, what u have when quick leveling
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:16 AM
    For other bosses that don't have a 'core' dice in the middle, does the spaces away in this rule matter when selecting?
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:16 AM
    Like in this mock-up
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:17 AM
    If a character is yellow blob, attacking directly in the front on a boss, can they assign damage to the rear hex of this mock boss?
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:18 AM
    Assuming the boss board looks like boss in encounter 2 with dice locations
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:18 AM
    Green dots are intended to be remaining dice
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:20 AM
    And 'M' being dice slots
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/18/2022, 12:26 AM
    The NW and NE HP dice are closer so those would be the valid options when attacking from yellow blob. Once those 2 dice are broken, then yes, you could hit the rear since the SW, S, and SE dice are all equal distance away.
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:29 AM
    Understood
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:33 AM
    Separate facing query
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:34 AM
    If a boss was moving up to the yellow blob oathsworn and wanted to 'face' it, which arrow would it use?
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:35 AM
    Like on the model, the front facing marker
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:36 AM
    Unclear if you could ever have the 'white arrow' scenario in particular
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:38 AM
    I suspect no, and green or blue arrow would depend on boss original facing / direction it came from and how it moved here and turned to face?
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:39 AM
    Because if facing green or blue direction the yellow blob is still in the front arc?
  • d

    Draznar

    11/18/2022, 12:47 AM
    Think I found my own answer when double checking the golden rule 🙂
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/18/2022, 1:32 AM
    In your example, green. You would use the NW ruling to make this decision.
  • t

    Tonzin

    11/18/2022, 1:33 AM
    Bingo. When in doubt, use the NW ruling
1...130131132...174Latest