This was just asked 6 hours ago apparently, but I'...
# how-do-i
m
This was just asked 6 hours ago apparently, but I'm going to ask the same question probably in a stupider way. I am on a trial account of some kind. I do not explicitly have the Graphite Merge Queue functionality turned on, for various reasons. My team and I are using the "Merge when ready" option on PR stacks. This is currently always doing a merge, but if I instead wait for the CI checks to complete on a specific PR in the stack, there's a Merge button and that button allows me to choose to Squash instead of Merge. Is there any way to configure things so that "Merge when ready" squashes instead of merges? I want all of the commits in a PR to be merged and to show up in my Git history with the comment on the whole PR in Graphite, instead of per PR having a commit with the changes, and a merge in commit.
p
(If applicable) To help us more clearly understand what you're trying to do, please provide additional details about: - Screenshots / debug logs / list of commands you've tried to run so far - Your workflow - Current state
m
This shows my git history. Note that there's a commit with code and another one for merge. This also shows the Merge when ready button. I'll show the Merge button with the squash options once my PR is ready again.
Are these options available when choosing "Merge when ready"? If so, how do I make it happen instead of Merge?
p
hey Michael, at this time the merge strategy used for
Merge when ready
is not configurable the way it would be when Graphite merge queue is enabled. With the standard stack merge feature, to ensure squash is used as the strategy you would need to change your GitHub repository settings to only allow "squash and merge" (disabling the other merge methods).
m
Hi Gary. Thanks for the response. Is there a feature request to allow this? Is there some technical reason I'm not thinking through as to why the Merge when ready option couldn't allow selection of the merge type?
Would the Graphite Merge Queue provide this functionality? Also, is there extra cost associated with enabling that? Or any downsides? It looks like it's included in the "Team" plan but that's double what the cost is for the Starter plan. I'm assuming to turn on the Graphite Merge Queue, I'll have to disable stuff in Github, and then downgrading from the Team plan to the Starter plan would be a hassle because I'd have to figure out how to reconfigure it in Github. Sound right?
p
Yes this is feature requested in our backlog, but is not being actively worked on. Graphite Merge Queue has the ability to set the same merge strategy for all PRs entering the queue for that repo. The configuration for it is documented here.
👍 1