euporphium - Hi team! We are integrating TS wit...
# dev-help
e
Hi team! We are integrating TS with our application and are trying to determine the best path from keeping Display Name in ThoughtSpot in sync with our application. We have a plan to cover cases where the user changes their name in our system, however, the first time users Share a Liveboard from an embed, they are prompted to confirm/enter a Display Name. What controls whether this prompt is shown? We'd like to be able to reproduce this workflow for testing. More importantly, can this prompt be disabled? This presents a path for these two systems to become out-of-sync.
a
message has been deleted
j
@euporphium how are you creating users in ThoughtSpot? Are you using the ThoughtSpot API?
e
Yes, we are creating them JIT using the
Get Full Access Token
endpoint.
j
And during creation, are you assigning a display name?
e
Yes - and this works as expected. We see the display name in the embeds and through other actions using the API. This Display Name is prepopulated in the prompt I mentioned on first share.
j
Ah, gotcha. So we're still asking them to confirm on first share.
e
Yes
j
OK, I'm not sure if there's a way to disable that prompt. Let me ask around internally and get back to you.
e
Thank you
j
@euporphium apologies for the delay in getting back to you. At the moment, there's no way to disable that prompt. However, our Product Team has picked this up as a future enhancement.
e
Thanks, John!
j
No problem, sorry I don't have better news to share but thank you for bringing this to our attention. I chatted with quite a few colleagues internally on this topic and we all generally agree that it might make sense in some situations, but we do need to allow disabling this in a lot of scenarios.