Joshua Yuan
04/07/2026, 7:10 PMgt sync -f instead of gt sync? Or can I configure this?
gt sync -f seems to discard local unsubmitted amends.
1. create a commit on a branch with some changes
2. gt submit (push to remote)
3. make some more changes
4. gt modify (which amends to the commit locally, so now remote and local differ)
5. Click the "Sync" button or gt sync -f --> now the locally amended changes are silently overridden by the remote 😞
This flow makes it such that I need to submit before I sync every time I want to sync, which feels like the wrong flow - cause then I end up submitting, syncing, then submitting again immediately.
I think there are two problems here.
1) Sync button should run gt sync not gt sync -f or at least be configurable
2) gt sync doesn't touch the local amends at all, and so gt sync -f should warn the user that there are local changes which will be overridden. I get that "force" is a powerful word and so perhaps it's not so surprising, but I think that if gt sync does nothing, the next step would be to prompt a warning, before the all-powerful warning-less override outcome.
It's worth noting that gt sync -f in version 1.7 does not override local amends....
Thanks!Pylon
04/07/2026, 7:10 PMgt feedback --with-debug-context <any message>Joshua Yuan
04/07/2026, 7:21 PMgt sync not gt sync -f)Pylon
04/08/2026, 1:34 PMgt sync -f by default and was updated in version 1.7.15 and there isn't a way to configure the extension to run gt sync. you can utilize the Sync (skip cleanup) dropdown option which preserves local amendments but merged branches linger and branches with conflicting local/remote state may be skipped.Scott Mulderig
04/11/2026, 2:56 AMScott Mulderig
04/11/2026, 3:06 AMPylon
04/13/2026, 1:47 PMScott Mulderig
04/13/2026, 1:49 PMScott Mulderig
04/13/2026, 1:52 PMPylon
04/13/2026, 3:16 PMgt sync --force was being silently suppressed in certain cases, which meant local changes were not being overwritten by the remote version. We released a fix so that it now works as intended. This can definitely be surprising since the --force flag does more than just skip confirmation prompts, it also syncs the remote version when there's a conflict between your local and remote branches, where remote always wins (the behavior in the videos).
With that being said, I totally agree with the sentiment that the VS Code Extension should allow for configuration/modification to automatically clean branches where local changes are not being deleted. I've created a ticket for our team for this enhancement.