I've started getting `Your org has enabled the Gra...
# how-do-i
m
I've started getting
Your org has enabled the Graphite merge queue for merging into main
comments on my PRs even though I'm authenticated and Graphite works fine, is there a way to fix this?
l
Same, I’m an org of one and still got this message even tho I’m the one who enabled it.
j
hi both! we recently added this comment for clarity - it appears in all repos with the MQ enabled. unfortunately we don't have settings to configure this just yet, but please let me know if it becomes too noisy and I can let the team know!
m
it seems really strange that you would both comment
Current dependencies on/for this PR:
and the huge merge queue comment in two separate comments
why not just add a small
merge queue
enabled notice on the existing comment?
l
I would definitely like to disable it. Since I’m an org of one it will never serve the purpose it’s meant for, and provides no value to me, so it’s pure noise.
I realize from a product/business perspective thats probably not a very compelling reason to make it configurable, and I get how the message would be helpful for larger orgs where folks may not have authed with graphite yet.
j
thank you both for understanding!! the reason why it's not currently part of the "current dependencies" message is because the MQ comment is meant to remind folks to merge via MQ (when it's enabled), even if the PR wasn't created on graphite (in which case there wouldn't be a "current dependencies" comment to add to). we're still making updates to this, so hopefully will be able to make it less noisy for users who find it less helpful!
m
@Joyce Lu Another pain point with this comment is that, since it's posted by the bot and not by the user like the regular Graphite comment, it shows up in GitHub notifications, so whenever I open a PR now I immediately get a ping from the GitHub bot that I opened a PR
👍 1
j
got it - thanks for raising this as well. i'll check with the team to see if there's any way to work around this
m
thanks!
l
Just wanted to bump this thread because this comment has gotten annoying enough that I’m starting to consider disabling the merge queue entirely or hacking up some way to auto delete. Took a look through settings and couldn’t find any way to disable so I figured id check in to see if there were any other workarounds or plans to make this comment configurable before I do anything drastic?
m
Same, had another teammate bring it up on Friday and I said I'd probably just disable the merge queue altogether given that this doesn't seem to be getting resolved any time soon
j
hey folks - thanks for bumping! let me get the latest for you
✅ 1
update: we don't have immediate plans to change this specific commenting behavior. (in the meantime, we are working on a project to minimize noisy notifications / consolidate where possible - while I don't think this will immediately address the pain point that you brought up here, i'll let you know if that changes!)
sad panda 1