https://discord.gg/botpress logo
Issues with copy to a new bot functionality
# 🤝help
h
Hey, tried to use the copy to a new bot functionality. It created a new bot, copied everything except one thing - workflow, even more : it removed the existing workflow from the original bot, which I've worked on and was published and removed all versions of it. Is this expected? How do I revive the workflow I had?
and yes it is intended
l
Sorry to hear @hundreds-psychiatrist-36983 let me see if I can find your old files. Can you drop your bot ID?
I'll do my best to recover them 🫡
h
8a662997-6760-404a-813f-8095ed017ad8
so is this a bug, the fact that it deleted the workflow when I tried to copy to a new bot? If so, how to prevent it from doing that, should I export instead?
l
This is not a bug it is an intended feature as it says in the copy to bot warning:
Maybe we can make the message more clear @hundreds-psychiatrist-36983 i'll report that too.
h
I don't get it, sorry. The message states that all of the settings and workflows will be copied, but in reality the workflow was not copied, and also deleted from the original bot
l
I am saying - to change the wording of that message to clearly state other workflows will get over written
How many days / hours ago is the "Good" version of the bot?
@hundreds-psychiatrist-36983
h
like 4-5 hours ago
so the workflows in the bot that I copy from will be overwritten with empty workflows when I click copy to a new bot ?
I get that they will be overwritten in the destination bot, but is it also expected to overwrite them in the source bot?
cause the workflow dissapeared from the source bot and did not appear in the destination bot
l
In simplest terms, the bot you copy will be duplicated
Bot #2 will be overwritten with bot #1
h
yes, that was what I expected, and It did copy everything except the workflow, and also removed the workflow from bot #1
l
I will go and see if I can recover your old bot - I'll be right back!
Wait -
Bot # 1 copied to Bot # 2
but workflow in bot # 1 went away?
h
I'm very sorry Ross, but I think we still don't get each other Bot #1 is the bot I had, with everything configured, as well as workflow Bot #2 was a new empty bot which I created when I clicked this The result is : Bot #1 has it's workflow removed Bot #2 has everything except the workflow So now I don't have my workflow from Bot #1 https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/1483091115719659730/1483123789587021935/image.png?ex=69b9722a&is=69b820aa&hm=859794fd4d9ff6c5c49956d4410340ee460dd81fba27245aa8790b94f27ce51a&
l
Were on the same page now @hundreds-psychiatrist-36983
testing this on my end and recovering your bot
i'll be back
h
thanks a lot, sorry for my wording, will try to explain clearer next time
l
Was your main workflow erased? Or a secondary workflow @hundreds-psychiatrist-36983
h
I worked in main and had only main configured
l
Thank you.
h
also, the workflow is still published, I did not publish the new version after the workflow dissapeared, maybe that helps
l
Okay @hundreds-psychiatrist-36983 i will send the file in DMS
10 Views