Morning..Has anyone run into the scenario where af...
# puppet-enterprise
j
Morning..Has anyone run into the scenario where after upgrqading to v2025.11.2, that the pe_postgres_info fact shows both Version 14 and Version 17 info together in the fact.. as opposed to just the 17 info as expected?
z
Specifically,
/opt/puppetlabs/server/apps/postgresql/14
is still in place. Our scans are picking that up as a vulnerability.
j
This sounds like the plan that is supposed to run after the upgrade didn't complete... I found an internal ticket that has details about updating the
remove_old_postgresql_versions
plan to ensure that the old '14' version is fully removed when upgrading to 17. I thought that plan was supposed to run automatically, but maybe not? Maybe that's a manual cleanup step? I'm checking the docs but I don't see any instructions to run that plan, so my expectation is that the upgrade is running that. @steveax: I saw your name on some testing for this a while back, you might have a better idea here of who we might be able to pull in about this?
s
As I recall, clearing out the old Postgres version was an explicitly manual step. The old version gets left as a "backup of last resort" in case something goes wrong with the upgrade.
this 1
j
Right, but there were some explicit notes in the upgrade for Postgres 14 to 17 that no manual steps would be required...
s
Charlie is correct, we do not remove those as they might be needed for a rollback. Aside from some disk space (and triggering scanners), having them present shouldn't present any issues so it's not strictly required to remove them.
puppet infrastructure run remove_old_postgresql_versions
will definitely take care of them if you want them removed
j
And now I'm finding the docs for it... • Upgrade an unmanaged PostgreSQL installation | Puppet Enterprise (PE) | 2025.11.3 • Upgrade a standalone PE-PostgreSQL installation | Puppet Enterprise (PE) | 2025.11.3 In those it's listed as an 'optional' step. The warning at the top does seem to imply you don't need to do the manual steps at all, but at least it's documented how to remove the old versions!
j
Thank you!