This message was deleted.
# feature-requests
s
This message was deleted.
n
What I would like ideally, especially if I am already in interactive mode, is to get prompted in the case where there are untracked files, if I want to add them or not.
It would remove the surprise element in both directions
x
you can
gt m -p
[gt modify --patch]
it works well now
n
I usually do not want to do this
I mean I got more or less used to it and now I use
git add
before
gt create
or
gt modify
. But my previous workflow was
git commit -a
usually
p
+1 to this. Philosophically, untracked files in
git
aren't a part of the repo and shouldn't be accidentally tracked. This bites me repeatedly when I'm working - especially when I jump back and forth between branches where I've added a new file to
.gitignore
.
j
Unfortunately this is a decision that was made early on in the development of the CLI (I imagine it was due to trying to make the workflow more like mercurial) and there's no great way for us to roll back the default behavior at this point. We may introduce a configuration for it in the future
p
Understandable. I'm just adding my plus one so that you get the feedback over time.
j
for sure! we actually have a doc where we're compiling a list of future configuration options
just realized i never responded to the original thread and wanted to share the context — keep the suggestions coming :)
n
Well I realize that changing the default is hard now that the cat is out of the bag - still:
the
-u
option is still free I think and there is an interactive prompt when doing gt create and gt modify, where you could have the "only tracked files" option
Thanks for your answer!
I ended up getting used to it and just getting used to keep my repo cleaner
🧼 1
j
the
-u
option is still free I think and there is an interactive prompt when doing gt create and gt modify, where you could have the "only tracked files" option
yeah, these are both easy enough to add!
p
The unfortunate thing is that git leaves around files which are tracked in one commit but not in another so it's not a matter of just keeping your repo clean. It's a very common pattern you have to deal with.
n
This got fixed in 1.0.9 🙂
j
Thank you for the suggestion 🙂