This message was deleted.
# report-bugs
s
This message was deleted.
j
Hmm, this one's a bit of head scratcher — was your branch fully restacked on his?
t
Hmm, what do you mean by “restack”? These were my steps: 1. Check out his branch 2.
gt branch track
3. Write my code 4. Submit my diff
j
The reason why this happens sometimes is because of how GitHub determines which diff to show — to visualize, imagine something like this (in commit-land):
Copy code
B
   |
A  A'
|/
M
I'm assuming that your PR has your branch set as the head and your coworkers set as the base (this is what
submit
should have done) If your branch is pointing at commit B and your coworker's is pointing at commit A, GitHub will vend us the diff from M to B because M is the merge base of A and B — "fully restacked" above was referring to having your branch based on the correct version of it's parent
But I'm not sure what you could have done that resulted in you having a different version of commit A than your coworker's branch based on your explanation
t
Ah - did I accidentally create
A'
when I did
gt branch track
on his branch?
j
branch track
shouldn't do that
it doesn't change anything in git-land
that's why i'm a little confused
t
His branch only has one version, and it’s the commit he made yesterday
👍 1
j
if you run
git log --oneline
from your branch locally, does that commit show up in the history?
t
Yes
j
I don't see
91ccd2d
there —
t
Oh hmm, yeah, you’re right
So your theory is correct. I’m not sure where
A'
came from, but it does seem to be there
j
This should fix
Copy code
git checkout <coworkers branch>
git reset --hard 91ccd2d
git checkout <your branch>
git rebase --onto <coworkers branch> HEAD~
gt branch track
# select coworkers branch from the menu
❤️ 1
I imagine that what happened here is that the "do everything"/`repo sync` button restacked your coworkers branch and then you didn't submit it when you submitted your own branch — unfortunately we don't currently have a way of telling commands not to restack other's branches — which can be an issue if you're trying not to resubmit restacked versions of your coworker's branches
t
Ooh yeah - I clicked submit on my branch only because I didn’t want to mess with his branch
👍 1
j
i'm still working on exactly what the right solution is here — for graphite-only collaboration we're getting closer and closer to having automatic rebasing be the norm, but non-graphite-graphite collaboration is a little harder of a case
👍 1