Hello. I have a question about the restore mode of...
# troubleshooting
c
Hello. I have a question about the restore mode of Flink. Flink 1.15 starts to provide three restore modes:
CLAIM
,
NO_CLAIM
, and
LEGACY
. Assume that my Flink application restores from a savepoint
SVP-1
with restore mode
CLAIM
. As time goes by, my Flink application creates new savepoints
SVP-2
,
SVP-3
, and so on. From the doc, the
CLAIM
mode may delete
SVP-1
when Flink thinks
SVP-1
is not needed for recovery anymore. How about
SVP-2
,
SVP-3
and future savepoints? Will them also be deleted if Flink thinks them no longer required? Thanks in advance for any reply.
m
Savepoints are already self-contained, claim mode is for checkpoints
🙏 1
c
Sorry. I’m not good at English. From the sentences below, I thought claim mode works for savepoint as well. I am curious about the difference between claim and no_claim modes. My understanding is that claim mode might delete the snapshot (either savepoint or externalized checkpoints) that is used to restore the Flink application but no_claim mode won’t. There is no difference between claim and no_claim modes for the savepoints and checkpoints created after restoring. If I misunderstand the two modes, please let me know. Thanks.
The
Restore Mode
determines who takes ownership of the files that make up savepoints or externalized checkpoints after they are restored. Snapshots, which are either checkpoints or savepoints in this context, can be owned either by a user or Flink itself. (doc)