I think in both cases there is no focused reaction...
# rules-help
c
I think in both cases there is no focused reaction target, so the monster will go for their default targeting. But I haven’t heard the ruling about Knockback into fire before. It had seemed to me, that the monster only considers the immediate cause (fire / trap) and not the indirect cause (the Witch / the Huntress / whomever inflicted Knockback into one). Without an opponent directly causing that damage, it uses default targeting.